Where are our alums now?

Songbook Academy is just the start for our All-Stars!  We have alums performing or competing or accomplishing something exciting every day, whether it is at a Summer Stock Theatre or at Feinstein's/54 Below in NYC.  Here are a few highlights that will give you a sense of some of their amazing experiences and opportunities since taking part in the Songbook Academy.


Songbook Academy Online Alum Night

Whether they've gone on to star on NBC's The Voice or are currently students at university performing arts programs you are interested in attending, this is your chance to network and engage with Songbook Academy alums from our 12-year network!



From NBC to Broadway

Melinda Rodriguez (2013 Songbook Celebration Award) is currently starring on NBC's The Voice on Team Kelly Clarkson.  Watch her blind audition here.

Maddie Baillio (2014 Songbook Youth Ambassador) starred as Tracy Turnblad in NBC Live's production of “Hairspray” in 2016.

Tyler Huckstep (2010), a recent graduate from University of Cincinnati, was cast in the world premiere of “The Sting” with Harry Connick, Jr. at Papermill Playhouse, and was a part of the national tour of “Shrek: the Musical”.

Annie Yokom (2010 Songbook Youth Ambassador) released her single “It’s a Good Day” in June 2018.

Jillian Slade (2010 & 2012) is apart of a Acoustic pop/folk duo “Shawn and Jill”. They recently released their first EP “The Beginning” in April of 2018.   

Nia Savoy (2015) was the winner of the 2018 AmericanPops inaugural NextGen: Finding the Voices of Tomorrow Competition.

Helena Belftrao (2016) was featured on Alper Tuzcu’s cover of “La Casa De Papel” which was released on Spotify

Joie Bianco (2016 & 2017) performed at the 2017 New York Cabaret Convention, released a demo “Raggy Waltz/Take5” on Soundcloud, and was the winner of the 2017 Julie Wilson Award.

Julia Cooper (2016) released her EP "Clean" in March of 2019.  Listen on all platforms!

Morgan Demetre (2017 & 2018) recently appeared in two Netflix series "Everything Sucks!" and can be seen in Season 2 of "American Vandal".


Alums Pursuing a Degree in the Arts

We don't have all of our alums pursuing undergraduate and graduate degrees in the Arts listed here, but this is a great start!  Make sure you look them up if you're visiting one of the Universities below. (Date notes year of participation in Songbook Academy, NOT University graduation year.)


Arizona State University - Gigi Sierra (2015, 2016)

Baldwin Wallace University - Milla Guerra (2014)

Ball State University - Megan (Huckstep) Kaur (2009 Songbook Celebration Award Winner)

Belmont University- Taylor Bickett (2017), Wilson Smith (2017), Samual Mulligan (2016, Inspiration Award Winner), Eliza Christie (2016)

Berklee College of Music - Ryan Peter Murphy (2018), Lydia Talamante (2017), Helena Beltrão (2016), Dominic Lipari (2016)

Boston Conservatory at Berklee - Ella Marcus (2017, 2018), Eevie Perez (2018), Zoë Stewart (2017, 2018), Graduated: Maya Jacobson (2013)

University of California, Los Angeles - Finn Sagal (2017 Songbook Youth Ambassador)

University of Southern California - Lexi Staubi (2017)

Capital University - Jacob Stuckert (2014), Graduated: Grace Wipfli (2013)

Carnegie Mellon University - Graduated: Jordan Plutzer (2014), Annie Yokom (2010 Songbook Youth Ambassador)

University of Central Florida - Graduated: Nick Drivas (2014)

Cincinatti College-Conservatory of Music - Graduated: Tyler Huckstep (2009)

Elon University - Audrey Trullinger (2016, 2017), Graduated: Renée La Schiazza (2012)

Florida International University - Graduated: Melinda Rose Rodriguez (2013)

Howard University - Nia Savoy (2015)

University of Illinois - Masters in Jazz Performance: Melinda Rose Rodriguez (2013)

Indiana University- Tara Lacy (2017, 2018), Cole Winston (2015-2017, Songbook Inspiration Award Winner), Lucas Debard (2015 Songbook Youth Ambassador), Kate Swaney (2015), April Varner (2015), Graduated: Julia Bonnet (2009 Songbook Youth Ambassador)

Ithaca College - Adam Kruschwitz (2014, 2015)

The Juilliard School - Reed Gnepper (2018)

University of Louisiana Monroe - Leah Huber (2015)

Loyola University Chicago - Sophia Manternach (2015)

Marymount Manhattan - Lily Rasmussen (2018 Songbook Youth Ambassador), Marissa Tappy (2018), Attended: Maddie Baillio (2014 Songbook Youth Ambassador)

University of Miami - Joie Bianco (2016, 2017), Anja Reese (2017), Gabe Schonman (2018), Valentina Shelton (2018), Maddy Seitles (2017), Graduated: Hannah Walpole (2013)

University of Michigan - Grace Tucker (2017, 2019), Cinderella Ksebati (2017), Nina White (2016), Hannah Vogelsang (2015, Celebration Award Winner), Graduated: Jillian Slade (2010 & 2012) 

Millikin University - Sophie Miller (2018), Will Koski (2016)

Missouri State University - Andrew McGowan (2016)

New York University - Graduated Master of Music - Musical Theatre: Madeline Raube

State University of New York at Fredonia - Genevieve Ellis (2013)

University of Northern Colorado - Kelly Maur (2016), Logan Rains (2015)

Oberlin Conservatory of Music - Weston Clark (2017), Caitlin Aloia (2015), Matthew Straw (2015), Graduated: Madeline Raube (2010)

Ohio University - Emma Hackworth (2018)

Oklahoma City University - Melissa Campbell (2016), Jessica Vanek (2016, Top 10), Taylor Moran (2015), Jennie Rupp (2018)

Otterbein University - Emma Shine (2016)

Pace University - Graduated: Sage Melcher (2012)

Penn State University - Matthew Fedorek (2017)

Rider University - Graduated: Nick Ziobro (2012 Songbook Youth Ambassador)

Royal Central School of Speech and Drama - Morgan Demetre (2017, 2018)

Santa Clara University - Alec Melosini (2016-2018)

The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland - Graduated: Kaitlin Reynell (2013)

Stanford University - Johnny Rabe (2018)

Syracuse University - Ariana Prappas (2018), Julia Goodwin (2013 Songbook Youth Ambassador), Emma Roos (2013)

Texas Christian University - Elizabeth Ross (2015 & 2016)

Texas State University - Grayson Samuels (2015)

Tulane University - Alex Eisenberg (2016)

Webster University - Viktor Freesmeier (2016)

Wright State University - Austin Gladstone (2016)

Yale University - Ian Berlin (2018), Adrianne Owings (2014)